An architectural treasure restored to its original grandeur
The Tower Building arose in 1936 as part of the Texas Centennial Exposition ... only it debuted with the name of The Federal Building.
Its most dramatic feature is its monumental tower capped by a stern-looking bald eagle. This eagle was designed by Raoul Josset and sculpted by artist Jose Martin. On the front of the building, on either side of the tower, are substantial plaques that reflect the front and reverse sides of the Great Seal of the United States.
Meanwhile, a large bas-relief frieze – showcasing figures of early Texas pioneers, explorers and soldiers – decorates the front and sides of the building.
During the Texas Centennial Exposition, the structure housed exhibits of United States government agencies. In 1954, the building became the "Electric Building." The tower featured a gigantic clock and lighted letters spelling out its new moniker.
In recent years the building has been used during the State Fair for general exhibits and for indoor food vendors. In the 1990s, the building was substantially demolished and rebuilt to return it to its original luster and configuration.
Today, it houses the City of Dallas Fair Park Administration offices.
You'll find the Tower Building just off Cotton Bowl Plaza, on the northwest side of the stadium.